Home / News & Events / Events / ASU Common Read

ASU Common Read

Coming up

A visit with Karla Cornejo Villavicencio, author of "The Undocumented Americans"

Thursday, Oct. 20, 2022 at 7 p.m. AZ time
(7 p.m. PDT / 8 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. CDT / 10 p.m. EDT) 

This event will take place online and registration information will be shared soon.

 

About the common read

Each year, Writing Programs at ASU selects a book as a "common read." The chosen work may be adopted as an additional textbook by composition classes during that year. The goal of the program at ASU is to encourage first-year students to write about pressing social problems that are relevant to ASU’s mission as a public enterprise. By learning to write about such problems as a community, we increase the probability of finding solutions to them.

 

Past selections & events

2021-2022: "Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America" by Michael Eric Dyson

Watch

2020-2021: "We Are the Weather: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast" by Jonathan Safran Foer

Watch

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page