Eric Gansworth: Apple (Skin to the Core)

Image of Apple (Skin to the Core) cover by Eric Gansworth / Photo of Gansworth by dellas

Eric Gansworth (Sˑha-weñ na-saeˀ), author of Apple (Skin to the Core), longlisted for the 2020 National Book Award, is the 2020 presenter in The Simon Ortiz RED INK Indigenous Speaker Series, sponsored by the Labriola Center. Mr. Gansworth's talk will be hosted live on Indigenous Peoples' Day 2020 via a Zoom webinar.

Register to attend

About "Apple (Skin to the Core)"

The term "Apple" is a slur in Native communities across the country. It's for someone supposedly "red on the outside, white on the inside."

Eric Gansworth is telling his story in "Apple (Skin to the Core)." The story of his family, of Onondaga among Tuscaroras, of Native folks everywhere. From the horrible legacy of the government boarding schools, to a boy watching his siblings leave and return and leave again, to a young man fighting to be an artist who balances multiple worlds.

Gansworth shatters that slur and reclaims it in verse and prose and imagery that truly lives up to the word heartbreaking.

About the speaker

Eric Gansworth is a member of Eel clan, enrolled Onondaga, born and raised at the Tuscarora Nation. A writer and visual artist, he has published a dozen books, including the novels, "Mending Skins" (Pen Oakland Award) and "Extra Indians" (American Book Award, NAISA Book of the Year), the young adult novels, "If I Ever Get Out of Here" (Honor Award, American Indian Youth Literary Award; One Book, One Philadelphia 2020) and "Give Me Some Truth" (Whippoorwill Award). He has recorded audiobooks for recent books. His collection of poems and paintings, "A Half-Life of Cardio-Pulmonary Function," was selected for the NBCC Good Reads List. His newest book, "Apple (Skin to the Core)," a memoir-in-verse and images, is longlisted for the National Book Award. His first play, "Re-Creation Story," was selected for the Public Theater’s Second Annual Native Theater Festival. He is a Professor of English and Lowery Writer-in-Residence at Canisius College in Buffalo, New York.

Free of charge and open to the public.

ASU sponsors

  • ASU Library
  • Department of English
  • Humanities division, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Labriola National American Indian Data Center
  • RED INK Indigenous Initiative
  • Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing

External sponsors

  • Arizona Humanities
  • Indigenous Peoples' Day Arizona
  • Levine Querido
Contact: 
James Blasingame
Monday, Oct. 12, 2020, 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. MT)
Location: 
Online
Price: 
Free of charge and open to the public