2019 Swarthout Award winners / Photo by Justin Petropolous

2019 Swarthout winners announced


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

On Thursday, April 11, recipients of the 57th annual Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing were honored at a reception in the University Club on ASU’s Tempe campus. Winners read from their work at this event, which recognized student writers from across the university. 2019 Swarthout Award-winners are:


1st Place: Inbal Gilboa (BA program, English creative writing) for “The Yearlong Lighthouse”

2nd Place: Miranda Williams (BA program, English literature) for “The Gardener’s Son”

3rd Place: Sophia Jurgens (BA program, English creative writing) for “Barron”

Honorable Mention: Anahí Herrera (BA program, English creative writing) for “solo un sueño”



1st Place: Erin Noehre (MFA program, creative writing) for “The Black Daughter Ponders Tools of Forgiveness/Visibility”

2nd Place: Maritza Estrada (MFA program, creative writing) for a collection of six poems that includes “Soliloquy: Sola Aquí” and “Obliterated Ómbligo”

3rd Place: Sarah Simonson (BA program, English creative writing) for “La Llorona”

Honorable Mention: Jennifer Eason (BA program, English literature) for the selection of poems titled Woman that includes the poems “Graveyard Walk” and “Throughout”


Photo by Justin Petropolous. Pictured, from left to right: Inbal Gilboa, Anahí Herrera, Maritza Estrada, Sophia Jurgens, Erin Noehre, Miranda Williams, Sarah Simonson, Jennifer Eason.

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page