2018-2019 Dept of English award-winners / Photos by Bruce Matsunaga

Celebrating Department of English student excellence


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

Congratulations to 2018-2019 grads and award-winners in the Department of English! At our annual graduation reception and awards ceremony on Monday, May 6, 2019 in Ross-Blakley Hall, we recognized outstanding work done by our graduates as well as our continuing students.

After remarks by Foundation Professor Devoney Looser, the following undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for their academic and community achievements: 


Department of English awards

Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative Writing: Warren Glynn

ASU Department of English Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards: Katie Alford and Caroline Clare

Carl C. Carlie Linguistics FellowshipJackson Kellogg

The College Dean’s Medalists for EnglishChandler Fritz (spring 2019) and Zoe Harrison (fall 2018)

English Graduate Student International Book ScholarshipMelika Nouri

Film and Media Studies Scholarship Award: Bechet Proto and Ryan Bordow

Friends of the Department of English ScholarshipSara Ozim

George and Collice Portnoff Endowed Fellowship in Comparative Literature: Kelly Loh

Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing

  • First Place, Fiction: Inbal Gilboa
  • Second Place, Fiction: Miranda Williams
  • Third Place, Fiction: Sophia Jurgens
  • Honorable Mention, Fiction: Anahí Herrera
  • First Place, Poetry: Erin Noehre
  • Second Place, Poetry: Maritza Estrada
  • Third Place, Poetry: Sarah Simonson
  • Honorable Mention, Poetry: Jennifer Eason

High Impact Internship Award: Melovee Easley and Colleen Wilkowski

John Doebler Memorial Award in Shakespeare and Renaissance Studies: Emily Gadberry

Jules J. Anatole Creative Writing ScholarshipAnahí Herrera

Katharine C. Turner Dissertation FellowshipCelina Osuna

Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award: Maritza Estrada

Marvin Fisher Book AwardAaron Agorsor and Narin Loa

Nick Ivins Memorial Literature ScholarshipLaryssa Wells

Outstanding Paper on Second Language Writing AwardYoungwha Lee

Salerno and Harkins Film Studies Award: John Robert Batinovich, Taylor Gene Boatright, Ryan Bordow, Ashley Burton, Tyler Carmen Casalini, Jianna Rose Corvo, Ryan David Orr, Bechet Proto, and Khrysta Nicole Salazar

Wilfred A. Ferrell Memorial FellowshipScott Caddy

→Also check out the list of winners for the ASU Writers Place Awards!  


Other university awards

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Award in Humanities: Chandler Fritz

The College Graduate Excellence Award: Ibrahim Alaswad, Jessica Boykin, Marinela Golemi, Deanna Keller, and Naji Obaid

Graduate College Interdisciplinary Enrichment FellowshipAlexandra Gilbert and Erin Noehre

Graduate College Completion Fellowships: William Kruger and Amanda Weaver

Graduate College FellowshipAnjanette Griego, Travis Franks, and Olivia Rines

GPSA Teaching Excellence Award: Anthony Celaya, Dakota Hale, and Savanna Conner

Fulbright Student Program English Teaching Assistantships:

  • Mikayla Schilling (South Korea)
  • Carson Parent (Romania)
  • Carolina Marques de Mesquita (Portugal)
  • Karina Alonso (Mexico)
  • Nichol Brown (Germany)
  • Chandler Fritz (Hungary)


With our thanks to friends, family, faculty, staff, and donors who helped make it all happen!


Top photos of Celina Osuna (left), Krista Ratcliffe, Chandler Fritz, and Doris Warriner (top), Ratcliffe, Laryssa Wells, and Warriner (bottom), and Narin Loa (right) by Bruce Matsunaga.

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page