Screenshot of presentation from ASU English graduation reception

Celebrating student excellence, 2020 style


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

ASU English celebrated its 2019-2020 graduates and award-winners on Monday, May 11, 2020 in a virtual event.

Grad and undergrad students completing any degree in the Department of English during spring 2020 were honored, as were those who have garnered scholarships, awards, and fellowships during the past school year. We also recognized our donors and faculty who have helped make it all happen.

Our featured speaker was Foundation Professor Sir Jonathan Bate, a biographer, broadcaster, ecocritic and Shakespearean. He is also a Senior Research Fellow of Worcester College, Oxford University, where he was Provost from 2011 to 2019. He is the youngest person ever to have been knighted for services to literary scholarship.

After Bate’s remarks, the following undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for their academic and community achievements.

Watch the ceremony [YouTube]

Event program [PDF]    |    Slide presentation [PDF]   |  Transcript of Bate's address [PDF] 


Department of English awards

Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative WritingMaritza Estrada

ASU Department of English Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant AwardsScott Caddy and Kate Hope

Carl C. Carlie Linguistics FellowshipKelly Baur

The College Dean’s Medalists for EnglishMicah McCreary (spring 2020) and Carly Verbeke (fall 2019)

Department of English Faculty Scholarship: Shivani Jaiswal

English Graduate Student International Book ScholarshipAaron Agorsor

Film and Media Studies Scholarship Award: Clarence Boyce and Jason Woods

Friends of the Department of English ScholarshipNora Martinez

George and Collice Portnoff Endowed Fellowship in Comparative LiteratureAyşe Kevser Arslan

Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing: Erik Pederson, Katelyn Corning, Janani Lakshmanan, Austin Davis, Nathaniel Buckingham, Anahí Herrera, Sophie Huxel, Sarah Simonson, Maritza Estrada, Jade Cho, Julian Delacruz, A Meinen, Steffi Sin, Chloe Boxer, Scott Daughtridge and Jackson Kellogg.

Homecoming Writing Contest: Brenna Camping, Thomas Bate and Alyssa Lindsey

High Impact Internship AwardDiana Schooling and KaLynn Yazzie

Jules J. Anatole Creative Writing ScholarshipChristopher Clements

Katharine C. Turner Dissertation FellowshipJerome Clark

Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry AwardAnna Flores

Marshall Chair Award for Radical Pedagogy in Poetics: Steven Abell, David Joseph, Noah Trammel, and Elliot Winter

Marvin Fisher Book AwardAvrajit Dey and Melika Nouri

Nick Ivins Memorial Literature ScholarshipLaryssa Wells

Outstanding Paper on Second Language Writing AwardAvrajit Dey and Michael Winans

Salerno and Harkins Film Studies Award: Clarence Boyce, Jasmin Figueroa, Victoria Pettit, Alexander Phillips, Elizabeth Rohe, Elizabeth Schroeder, Branden Selman and Jason Woods

Wilfred A. Ferrell Memorial FellowshipMelika Nouri

→Also check out the list of winners for the ASU Writers Place Awards!  


Other university awards

Alumni Association Outstanding Undergraduate Award in HumanitiesMicah McCreary

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Humanities: Kate Hope

The College Graduate Excellence AwardElizabeth Martinez, Ibrahim Alaswad, Muhammad Zamzami, Ayşe Kevser Arslan and Busra Deniz

Graduate College Interdisciplinary Enrichment FellowshipMikhail Zaikovskii, Michael Hall, Julian Delacruz and Anna Flores

Graduate College Completion FellowshipsSayantan Mukherjee, Travis Franks, Olivia Rines, Colleen Wilkowski and Monica Baldonado‐Ruiz

GPSA Teaching Excellence Award: Marinela Golemi

Fulbright Student Program English Teaching Assistantships:

  • Rebecca Ericson, linguistics (Hong Kong)
  • Beckett Eickerman, MTESOL (The Netherlands)
  • Monica Orillo, TESOL Certificate (Germany)

With our thanks to friends, family, faculty, staff, and donors who helped make it all happen!

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page