COVID-19 information

Fall 2021 update  |  FAQ page  |  Latest updates

English Chair Mark Lussier and Deans Medalist Jessica Fletcher

English announces spring 2016 awards, scholarships


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

The Department of English at Arizona State University announces spring 2016 winners of graduate and undergraduate awards, scholarships and fellowships. On May 5, English hosted a reception where the recipients of the following honors were recognized. Congratulations to these remarkable students and a big thank you to all of our donors and supporters:

Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative Writing: Jennifer Conlon

Carl C. Carlie Linguistics Fellowship: Annette Hornung

Department of English Faculty Scholarship: Sarah Chubar

Don and Alleen Nilsen Humor Scholarship Award: Annalea Fusci (watch her award-winning video here).

English International Graduate Student Book Scholarship: Myungsung Kim

Friends of the Department of English Scholarship: Jessica Simpson

George and Collice Portnoff Endowed Fellowship in Comparative Literature: Jessica Brown

Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing

  • Rayan Mohammed (1st Place, Fiction)
  • Jacqueline Balderrama (2nd Place, Fiction)
  • Gary Garrison (3rd Place, Fiction)
  • Kennedy Stearns (Honorable Mention, Fiction)
  • Emily Price (1st Place, Poetry)
  • Alexandra Comeaux (2nd Place, Poetry)
  • Susan Nguyen (3rd Place, Poetry)
  • Elijah Tubbs (Honorable Mention, Poetry)

John Doebler Memorial Award in Shakespeare and Renaissance Studies: Suzanne Voas

Jules J. Anatole Creative Writing Scholarship: Kaitlyn Leith

Katharine C. Turner Dissertation Fellowship: Myungsung Kim

Katharine C. Turner Prize from the Academy of American Poets: Alexandra Comeaux

Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award: Kyle Bassett

Marvin Fisher Book Award

  • Fall 2016: Haroon Alsager
  • Spring 2016: Cristina Duculescu

Outstanding Paper on Second Language Writing Award: Katherine O’Meara

Wilfred A. Ferrell Memorial Fellowship: Kayla Bruce