COVID-19 information

Fall 2021 update  |  FAQ page  |  Latest updates

Graduating ASU student Lauren Pious / Photo by Bruce Matsunaga

English grads and award-winners represent best of ASU


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

Congratulations to 2017-2018 grads and award-winners in the Department of English! At our annual graduation reception and awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 8, 2018 in Ross-Blakley Hall, we recognized outstanding work done by our graduates as well as our continuing students.

After remarks and a poetry reading by assistant professor Natalie Diaz, the following undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for their academic and community achievements: 


Department of English awards

Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative WritingSusan Nguyen

Carl C. Carlie Linguistics FellowshipAngela Schrader

Department of English Faculty ScholarshipSavannah Williamson

Friends of the Department of English ScholarshipErin Bottino

Jules J. Anatole Creative Writing ScholarshipSamantha Barraza

Katharine C. Turner Dissertation FellowshipAmilynne Johnston

Marvin Fisher Book AwardIbrahim Alaswad and Hae Ryun Park

Nick Ivins Memorial Literature ScholarshipJacqueline Rippon

Outstanding Paper on Second Language Writing AwardJunghwa Kim

Wilfred A. Ferrell Memorial FellowshipAbigail Oakley

English International Graduate Student Book Scholarship: Mekhlid Alsaeedi

Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing

  • First Place, Fiction: Kali Canedo
  • Second Place, Fiction: Warren Glynn
  • Third Place, Fiction: Megan Latin-De Bono
  • Honorable Mention, Fiction: Luke Tasker
  • First Place, Poetry: Noah Tramell
  • Second Place, Poetry: Chelsea Liston
  • Third Place, Poetry: Susan Nguyen
  • Honorable Mention, Poetry: Connor Nielsen


Other ASU awards

CLAS Dean’s Medalists for English: Nichol Brown (spring 2018) and Antonette Gallo (fall 2017)

CLAS Graduate Excellence Award:

  • Anthony Celaya
  • Susan Nguyen
  • Naji Obaid
  • Amanda Weaver

CLAS Doctoral Fellowship for First Generation Students: Travis Franks

Graduate College Interdisciplinary Enrichment Fellowship: Anjanette Griego and James Garcia

Graduate College Completion Fellowship (Fall 2017)

  • Jessica Brown
  • Kenneth Ladenburg
  • Sun Young Lee
  • Sarah Snyder
  • José Terneus

Graduate College Fellowship (Spring 2018): Amanda Roth and Cheryl McKell

GPSA Teaching Excellence Award: Katie Alford

Top photo of graduating English literature major Lauren Pious by Bruce Matsunaga. See more pictures from the graduation reception and awards ceremony here