Screenshots of Homecoming Writing Awards 2020

Home(coming) Writing Contest 2020 winners honored


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

On November 18, 2020, we celebrated the winners of our annual Homecoming Writing Contest with a virtual awards presentation and a reading from the students’ works. Homecoming Committee chair Kevin Sandler emceed. This year’s awardees are:

  • Breanne Hoffman – poetry, from “He, Him, His”
  • Zane Encinas - scholarly essay, for “On the Foucauldian Carceral State and Anzaldúa’s Borderlands
  • Sally Krueger-Wyman – fiction/creative nonfiction, for “Again and Again”

Begun in 2007 at the suggestion of now-Professor Emeritus Randel Helms, the Homecoming Writing Contest recognizes the creative and scholarly writing of undergraduate students within the Department of English at ASU. Homecoming 2020 did not allow for a typical celebration, but the Department of English was gratified to continue this tradition of making awards for excellence in student writing.

If you weren’t able to tune-in during the live event, you can watch the recording here:


Pictured at top, clockwise from left (screenshots by Bruce Matsunaga):

  • Top left: A Zoom collage of reading participants, which also includes Director of Technology Bruce Matsunaga (top left) and Homecoming Committee Chair Kevin Sandler (bottom right)
  • Top right: Creative non-fiction winner Sally Krueger-Wyman
  • Bottom right: Scholarly essay winner Zane Encinas
  • Bottom left: Poetry winner Breanne Hoffman

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page