COVID-19 information

Fall 2021 update  |  FAQ page  |  Latest updates

Winners of 55th annual Swarthout Awards in 2017

Swarthout Award winners announced


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

On Wednesday, April 26, recipients of the 55th annual Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Awards in Writing were honored at a reception in ASU’s Memorial Union. Winners read from their work at this event, which recognized student writers from across the university. 2017 Swarthout Award-winners are:


1st Place: Megan Granata (MFA in Creative Writing)

2nd Place: Rafaella Safarian (Barrett, English and French)

3rd Place: Warren Glynn (MFA in Creative Writing)

Honorable Mention: Kali Canedo (BFA, Fiber Arts)



1st Place: Chelsea Liston (MFA in Creative Writing)

2nd Place: Mary Lee (Barrett, English)

3rd Place: Susan Nguyen (MFA in Creative Writing)

Honorable Mention: Anna Flores (English and Digital Culture)


Photo by Jenny Irish. Pictured, left to right: Susan Nguyen, Rafaella Safarian, Warren Glynn, Megan Granata, Anna Flores, Marry Lee, Kali Canedo (posing in front).