Submission Deadline: Swarthout Awards

The Swarthout Awards are one the University’s oldest and most celebrated traditions, recognizing the promising creative work of student writers. This will be the 57th year of the awards, made possible by the generosity of Swarthout Family. 

There will be eight awards consisting of first, second, third, and honorable mention prizes in poetry and in fiction. In 2019, first prizes will be $2,000, second prizes $1,500, third prizes $1,000, and honorable mention awards $500.

This competition hosted by the Department of English's creative writing program is open to students not yet twenty-six (26) years of age by the entry date for the awards (Friday, March 15, 2019) and enrolled not less than half-time in any college of Arizona State University.

Please visit the award's website for information about how to apply.


Justin Petropoulos
EXTENDED DEADLINE: Friday, Mar. 15, 2019, 4 p.m.
Submit via instructions

COVID-19 information

Latest updates  |  Coronavirus FAQ page  |  Vaccine FAQ page