Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative Writing

The Aleida Rodriguez Memorial Award in Creative Writing--created in honor of Aleida Rodriguez, who died of breast cancer in 2012--provides financial support for ASU graduate students who want to pursue a career in creative writing. One annual award is given to a selected MFA in Creative Writing student. Awards alternate by year: in Fall 2017 the recipient was a poet; the Fall 2018 recipient was a fiction writer. The next submission deadline, in POETRY, will be OCTOBER 3, 2019, by 5:00pm

Previous Recipients:

2019-2020: Maritza Estrada

2018-2019: Warren Glynn

2017-2018: Susan Nguyen

2016-2017: Kathryn Bucolo

2015-2016: Jennifer Conlon

2014-2015: Heath Wilcock (MFA, 2016)

2013-2014: Nathan Slinker (MFA, 2014)

Contact Creative Writing Program Manager Justin Petropoulos ( for details.