Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Collice Portnoff, who chaired the Department of English 1957-63, poses with writer Robert Frost at ASU.

The Department of English is seeking applications for the George and Collice Portnoff Endowed Fellowship in Comparative Literature. Students will be considered in the spring prior to being selected to receive the fellowship in the following academic year. A recipient of the fellowship will be referred to as the Portnoff Fellow in the Department of English at Arizona State University.

In order to be considered students must be full-time master's or doctoral degree students in the Department of English working in two literatures in the original languages, not including English. This award is designated for study in literature.

The award amount can vary from year to year. The award will be approximately $3,000 and will be disbursed 1/2 in Fall, and half in Spring.

To be considered for the award please upload the following items in one PDF document:

1. A one-page statement describing your academic interests and goals.
2. A copy of your transcripts.
3. A letter of recommendation from a faculty member.


Deadline: February 1

If you have any questions, please contact Sheila Luna.

Photo above: Collice Portnoff, who chaired the Department of English 1957-63, poses with writer Robert Frost (seated) during the poet's 1958 visit to ASU. ASU art professor Harry Wood is presenting Frost with a portrait, while Portnoff and English professor George Zimmerman look on.

Previous Recipients: 

2024-2025 Robert Harris
2023-2024  Tristan Rebe
2022-2023   Shahzadi Laibah Burq
2021-2022   Muhammad Irfan Zamzami
2020-2021  Ayse Kevser Arslan
2019-2020  Kelly Loh
2018-2019: [No award given]
2017-2018  Christa Mannen
2016-2017  Jessica Browrn
2015-2016:  Meghan Nestel
2013-2014: Arthur Russell
2012-2013: Daniel Najork
2011-2012: Ding Ding Zheng
2010-2011: Angela San Martin 
2009-2010: William Bolton
2008-2009: Nina Sabolik 
2007-2008: Robert Stauffer 
2006-2007: Henry Quintero 
2005-2006: Alissa Johnson 
2004-2005: Stephanie Volf