Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Established at ASU in 1994 with a bequest from English and Creative Writing professor Katharine C. Turner, the Academy of American Poets' Katharine C. Turner Prize is a prestigious recognition of fine student poetry in the United States.  

The competition is open every spring to ASU's MFA in Creative Writing students, who are each invited to submit one poem. First place winners are awarded $100 and a one-year membership to the Academy of American Poets. An honorable mention also is recognized by the Academy.

Deadline in 2015: April 15.



Alexandra Comeaux, First Prize, "The Community Pool"


Dustin Pearson, First Prize, “The Black Body Auditions for a Play”
Alexandra Comeaux, Honorable Mention, “Sister” (excerpt from "Victoria, on the Greyhound")


Reese Conner, First Prize
Dorothy Chan, Honorable Mention


Kathrine Keller and Christopher Miller (tie for First Prize)
Shertok Lama, Honorable Mention


Shane Lake, First Prize
Nathan Slinker, Honorable Mention