Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The Katharine Turner Endowed Fellowship is a cash award designed to assist doctoral candidates in the Department of English working in the field of American Literature who are finishing their dissertations.

The award is approximately $13,000 (half distributed in the Fall semester and half distributed in the Spring semester). 

Applicants who want to be considered for the Katharine Turner Endowed Fellowship must upload one PDF document containing a letter of application (including a work plan for the proposed year of support), a curriculum vitae, a two-page description of the dissertation explaining its significance to the field, and a letter of support from the  dissertation chair that addresses the applicant's strengths and potential to complete the dissertation in a timely manner.

The Awards Committee will also consider the following criteria when reviewing for the fellowship: 1) how expeditiously the student has progressed through the program; 2) has the student adhered to the PhD Timeline; 3) how many chapters of the dissertation have been written; 4) has the student presented at conferences or published in journals; 5) is it likely that the student will graduate by the end of the fellowship.


February 1

Results of the competition will be announced in March.

If you have any questions, please contact Sheila Luna.

Previous Recipients:

2024-2025 Mark LaRubio
2023-2024 Joshua Horton
2022-2023  James Garcia
2021-2022 Clarissa Goldsmith
2020-2021 Jerome Clark
2019-2020  Celina Osuna
2018-2019  Amilynne Johnston
2017-2018  Matthew Henry
2016-2017  Myungsung Kim
2015-2016: Kerri Slatus
2014-2015: Samuel Estabrooks
2013-2014: Sarah Grieve 
2012-2013: Valerie Fazel 
2011-2012: William Bolton 
2010-2011: Hui-Ling Yang & Steven Accardi
2009-2010: Jeremy Eisenberg 
2008-2009: Sean Bolton 
2007-2008: Michael Perry & Lisa Ricker 
2006-2007: Sarah Fedirka
2005-2006: Zachary Waggoner 
2004-2005: Bruce Matsunaga 
2004-2005: Cajsa Baldini
2003-2004: Yue Ma
2003-2004: Xu Tete
2003-2004: Yang Yanning
2002-2003: Muhammad Badameh
2002-2003: William Endres
2002-2003: Mi Lim Ryoo
1996-1997: Bill Hummel
1995-1996: Eric Waggoner
1994-1995: Dorie Goldman