Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

This annual award recognizes an outstanding intellectual work by ASU graduate students on issues related to second language writing and writers. The paper should be 15 to 30 pages in length (not including the bibliography), follow APA or MLA style, and be written during the calendar year preceding the award year. It can be a philosophical, historical or empirical study as well as a critical review essay—as long as it addresses a significant issue related to second language writing and writers. Co-authored papers are acceptable as long as all the co-authors meet the eligibility criteria stated below. The award recipient(s) will receive approximately $300; in case of co-authored papers, the award will be shared among eligible co-authors. The award will be presented at the annual Department of English Awards Ceremony at the end of the Spring semester.

Eligibility: The applicant must have been a full-time student in a graduate program at ASU during the semester in which the significant portion of the work in developing the paper took place and at the time of receiving the award. The recipient must be able to attend the award ceremony.

Application Procedure: To be considered for this award, please upload the following materials in one PDF document:

1. A one-page cover letter, including a brief summary of the paper and an explanation of how the paper and the author(s) meet all the criteria stated above

2. A paper on second language writing

3. A copy of the author's transcript

The applications will be reviewed by two tenure-track faculty members—one representing rhetoric/composition and the other representing applied linguistics/TESOL.


Deadline: March 1

Previous Recipients: 

2023 Xiao Tan
2022  Leila Gholami
2021  Xiao Tan
2020  Michael Winans
2020 Avrajit Dey
2019   Youngwha Lee
2018  Junghwa Kim
2017  Sarah Snyder
2016  Katherine O'Meara
2015:  Daniel Bommarito
2014:  Daniel Bommarito and Emily Cooney
2013: Daniel Bommarito