Nick Ivins Memorial Literature Scholarship

Deadline: March 15 (Extended deadline)

Created in 2004-05, the Nick Ivins Memorial Literature Scholarship was established in memory of Nick Ivins (BA, English Literature, 2004). Nick’s family—parents Ed and Jaki, and sister Hayley—created this legacy of an endowed scholarship to support deserving students who love literature and who, like Nick himself, especially love the modernist work of James Joyce, author of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Ulysses, and Finnegans Wake. The award amount for the upcoming fall semester is approximately $550.

The scholarship application has an essay requirement. The following links provide good examples of how to talk about the impact a work has had on you, how a text works, and what makes it successful:

*Premium content. May need to log-in via ASU Libraries to view entire article.

The scholarship's application requires one or two pieces of writing:

  • An essay (maximum 400 words) discussing any work by a Modernist writer (such as James Joyce, Samuel Beckett, Sylvia Plath, Gertrude Stein, et al.) indicating how it has influenced English literature and/or literary theory. Preference will be given to an essay exploring the effect James Joyce's work has had on poststructuralist thought.
  • [For students planning or having completed a study abroad program ONLY]: A personal statement (maximum 100 words) describing your participation or plans for participation in an ACMRS Study Abroad Program or other ASU Study Abroad Program, focusing on how such participation has or will inform and enhance your study of English literature.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • be enrolled and pursuing either an undergraduate or graduate degree in English in the Department of English in The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, ASU Tempe campus during the semester the scholarship is received;

  • have a 2.5 minimum cumulative grade point average and a 3.0 minimum grade point average in the major; and

  • be an Arizona resident qualifying for resident tuition. 

Preference in the selection process will be given to applicants who

  • have participated or are currently enrolled in an ACMRS Study Abroad Summer Program or other ASU Study Abroad Program; and

  • have a focus area of English Literature.

 Previous recipients of the Nick Ivins Memorial Literature Scholarship are no longer eligible to apply.

Apply - Nick Ivins Memorial Literature Scholarship

Previous Recipients

2023-2024: [No award given]
2022-2023: Sabrina Oviedo
2021-2022: Seher Shah
2020-2021: Thomas Bate
2019-2020: [No award given]
2018-2019: Laryssa Wells
2017-2018: Jacqueline Rippon
2016-2017: Curtiss Johnson
2015-2016: [No award given]
2014-2015: Kaitlyn Leith
2013-2014: Ivan Babanovski
2012-2013: [No award given]
2011-2012: Anissa Voron
2010-2011: Chelsea Chotena
2009-2010: Kristilyn Baldwin
2008-2009: David Edwards
2007-2008: Emily M. Reynolds
2006-2007: William Cioffi, Ding Ding Zheng
2005-2006: Julie Kranzberg
2004-2005: Megan Faragher