Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award

Submission Deadline: November 20, 2019

Judge: jayy dodd

A prize of $300 and a public reading with the Lyon Award judge is given to an ASU undergraduate or graduate creative writing student each year for a single poem of any length.

Mabelle A. Lyon published more than 1,000 poems in commercial and literary magazines and anthologies. She founded the first public library in Goodyear, Arizona and co-founded the Arizona Poetry Society, serving as the first president. After she died, friends and family of Lyon made a memorial gift to establish the Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award at ASU in honor of her love of poetry. Lyon’s poems and writings were provided to the English department as an archive for faculty and students.

Lyon Award Judge: jayy dodd

the subject known as "jayy dodd" is a blxk trans womxn from los angeles, california– now based in Portland,OR. she is a literary & performance artist. her work has appeared / will appear in Broadly, The Establishment, Entropy, LitHub, BOAAT Press, Duende, & Poetry Foundation among others. she is the Executive Director for Dovesong Labs (a development of Winter Tangerine), editor of A Portrait in Blues (Platypus Press 2017), author of Mannish Tongues (Platypus Press 2017) & The Black Condition ft. Narcissus (Nightboat Books 2019). she has been a Pushcart Prize nominee, co-editor of Bettering American Poetry. her visual & written work has been featured in West Hollywood, Portland’s Institute of Contemporary Art, Teen Vogue & Entropy. they are also a volunteer gender-terrorist & artificial intellectual. find her @

Submission Guidelines

  • Email one poem (of any length) as a Word .docx or .pdf to
  • Please make the subject line of your submission email: Lyon Award Submission 2019
  • Poems must be submitted by 5:00 pm on November 20, 2019
  • Attach a coversheet with your name, poem title, and contact information
  • Do not include your name or contact information on the poem itself, title only 

Previous Recipients

    • 2019-2020: Anna Flores
    • 2018-2019: Maritza Estrada
    • 2017-2018: [No award given]
    • 2016-2017: Jack Geist
    • 2015-2016: Kyle Bassett
    • 2014-2015: Reese Conner
    • 2013-2014: Dorothy Chan

              For more information, contact Creative Writing Program Manager, Justin Petropoulos at