Home / Student Life / Graduate Experience / Graduate Advising

Graduate Advising

Graduate students should consult the relevant program directors for academic advising. Once a student has chosen a commitee chair, that faculty member becomes the student's chief source of advice.

Sheila Luna, Kira Assad and Justin Petropoulos can answer most general questions and are a valuable source of information and advice. You may contact them first when you have an advising question. For general questions, please contact englishgradadvising@asu.edu. The Graduate Program Handbooks are also a valuable source of information, and general questions will be answered through the FAQs.

If students are unable to see advisors during scheduled office hours, they may email for an appointment. Because of the diverse demands on these advisors, please attend any appointment you schedule. If you have to cancel, contact the advisor in advance.

Sheila Luna, Graduate Program Manager
RBHL 125, (480) 965-3194
E-mail: sheila.luna@asu.edu
Advising: PhD programs, MA English programs (in-person and online), PhD Funding, TA/RA information

Kira Assad, Academic Success Specialist, Graduate Programs and Internships
RBHL 170, (480) 965-7454
E-mail: kira.assad@asu.edu
Advising: MTESOL (in-person and online), MAS Film and Media Studies, MA English (English Studies) Online, MA English Education, MA Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, 4+1 Programs

Justin Petropoulos, MFA Creative Writing Program Manager
RBHL 152, (480) 727-9130
Email for appointment justin.petropoulos@asu.edu
Advising: MFA Creative Writing, 4+1 BA English (Creative Writing) to MA English (Creative Writing), MFA Funding

Graduate Advisors - Fall 2019

Elenore Long, Director of Graduate Studies (RBHL 154)
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30-11:30 a.m., Wednesday 12:15-1:15 p.m. and by appointment
Email for appointment elenore.long@asu.edu

Julia Himberg, MAS Film and Media Studies (RBHL 167)
Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-5:00 p.m. and by appointment
Email for appointment julia.himberg@asu.edu

Sheila Luna, MA English Online (RBHL 125)
Email for appointment sheila.luna@asu.edu

Cora Fox, Literature (RBHL 165)
Office Hours: Office Hours: Wednesday 10:00-11:30 a.m., Thursday 1:00-2:30 p.m., and by appointment
Email for appointment Cora.Fox@asu.edu

Jessica Early, English Education (RBHL 163)
Office Hours: Wednesday 3:00-5:00 p.m. and by appointment
Email for appointment jessica.early@asu.edu

Aya Matsuda, MTESOL/Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (RBHL 159)
Email for appointment aya.matsuda@asu.edu

Kathleen Lamp-Fortuno, Writing, Rhetorics and Literacies (RBHL 161)
Office Hours: Wednesday 9:00-11:00 a.m. and by appointment
Email for appointment kathleen.lamp@asu.edu

Claudia Sadowski-Smith, MA Comparative Literature 
Email for appointment claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu

Matt Bell, Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing (RBHL 214)
Email for appointment Matthew.D.Bell@asu.edu

Elly van Gelderen, Linguistics Certificate 
Email for appointment ellyvangelderen@asu.edu

Ron Broglio or Gregory Castle, Critcal Theory Certificate 
Email for appointment ronald.broglio@asu.edu or dedalus@asu.edu