Home / Student Life / Graduate Experience / Graduate Advising

Graduate Advising

Graduate students should consult the relevant program directors for academic advising. Once a student has chosen a commitee chair, that faculty member becomes the student's chief source of advice.

Sheila Luna, Kira Assad, Justin Petropoulos, and Edith Velez Bermudez can answer most general questions and are a valuable source of information and advice. You may contact them first when you have an advising question. For general questions, please contact englishgradadvising@asu.edu. The Graduate Program Handbooks are also a valuable source of information, and general questions will be answered through the FAQs.

If students are unable to see advisors during scheduled office hours, they may email for an appointment. Because of the diverse demands on these advisors, please attend any appointment you schedule. If you have to cancel, contact the advisor in advance. 

Beginning 3/16/20 and until further notice, all advising appointments will be conducted remotely. Please email your advisor for an appointment (available over the phone or through zoom). 

Graduate Advisors

Sheila Luna, Senior Program Manager
RBHL 125, (480) 965-3194
E-mail: sheila.luna@asu.edu
Advising: PhD programs, PhD Funding, TA/RA information

Kira Assad, Academic Success Specialist
RBHL 124, (480) 965-7454
E-mail: kira.assad@asu.edu
Advising: MTESOL (in-person), MA English programs (in-person), MA English Education, MA Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Accelerated Programs

Edith Velez Bermudez, Student Support Specialist
RBHL 137, (480) 727-3133
E-mail: evelezbe@asu.edu
Advising: MA English (English Studies) online, MTESOL Online, MAS in Film and Media Studies

Justin Petropoulos, Creative Writing Program Manager
RBHL 152, (480) 727-9130
Email for appointment justin.petropoulos@asu.edu
Advising: MFA Creative Writing, Accelerated BA English (Creative Writing) to MA English (Creative Writing), MFA Funding

Graduate Directors - Spring 2020

Elenore Long, Director of Graduate Studies (RBHL 154)
Email for appointment elenore.long@asu.edu

Kathleen Hicks, Director of Online Programs (RBHL 151)
Email for appointment kathleen.hicks@asu.edu

Julia Himberg, MAS Film and Media Studies (RBHL 167)
Email for appointment julia.himberg@asu.edu

Jonathan Hope, Literature (RBHL 155)
Email for appointment jrhope1@asu.edu

Jessica Early, English Education (RBHL 163)
Email for appointment jessica.early@asu.edu

Matthew Prior, MTESOL/Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (RBHL 159)
Email for appointment matthew.prior@asu.edu

Mark Hannah, Writing, Rhetorics and Literacies (RBHL 165)
Email for appointment mark.hannah@asu.edu

Claudia Sadowski-Smith, MA Comparative Literature 
Email for appointment claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu

Matt Bell, Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing (RBHL 214)
Email for appointment Matthew.D.Bell@asu.edu

Elly van Gelderen, Linguistics Certificate 
Email for appointment ellyvangelderen@asu.edu

Ron Broglio or Gregory Castle, Critcal Theory Certificate 
Email for appointment ronald.broglio@asu.edu or dedalus@asu.edu